2nd Annual Allocators’ Choice Awards & Masterclass November 29, 2018 • New York City


The Masterclass is an afternoon of intense discussion among an exclusive group of asset allocators and managers. At a dinner that evening, winners of the Allocators’ Choice Awards will be revealed. The seven categories are exclusively for — and chosen by — asset allocators.


Join us for the most elite event in institutional investing.




View 1st Annual Allocators’ Choice Awards &
Masterclass Coverage 2017


View Lifetime Achievement Coverage 2017





Partnership of the Year

Alaska Permanent Fund, Public Institution of Social Security of Kuwait, RPMI Railpen, & Wafra

Alaska Permanent Fund & McKinley Capital Management

Employees Retirement System of Texas & PAAMCO

Texas Treasury Safekeeping Trust Company, BNY Mellon & Amherst Holdings

Missouri State Employees’ Retirement System, University of Missouri, & NISA



Turnaround of the Year

Harvard Management Company

N.P. “Narv” Narvekar, CEO

North Dakota State Investment Board

David Hunter, Executive Director & CIO

Orange County Employees Retirement System

Molly Murphy, CIO

Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation

John Greenberg, CIO

Public Employees Retirement Association of New Mexico

Dominic Garcia, CIO

Rainwater Charitable Foundation

Randy Kim, CIO



Technology User of the Year


Ronald Wuijster, CEO

Iowa Public Employees’ Retirement System

Sriram Lakshminarayan, Chief Risk Officer


James Davis, CIO

Princeton University Investment Company

Glenn Wemple, Director of Investment Technology

Public Sector Pension Investment Board (PSP)

Neil Cunningham, CEO

Texas Municipal Retirement System

T.J. Carlson, CIO

Washington University Investment Management Company

Sean Arp, Chief Operating Officer



Change Maker of the Year

California Public Employees’ Retirement System

Ted Eliopoulos, CIO

New York University

Retirement Plan Committee

San Francisco Employees’ Retirement System

William Coaker, CIO

State of Wisconsin Investment Board

David Villa, CIO

Teacher Retirement System of Texas

Jerry Albright, CIO



Team of the Year

California State Teachers’ Retirement System

Christopher Ailman, CIO

EquiTrust Life Insurance Company

Kenyatta Matheny, CIO

Hemsley Charitable Trust

Rosalind Hewsenian, CIO

Kresge Foundation

Robert Manilla, VP & CIO

Margaret A. Cargill Philanthropies

Shawn Wischmeier, CIO

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Jason Klein, CIO

OP Trust

James Davis, CIO

University of Chicago

Mark Schmid, VP & CIO

University of Notre Dame

Scott Malpass, VP & CIO

University of Texas Investment Management Co.

Thomas Britton “Britt” Harris IV, President, CEO, & CIO



Investment Committee/Board of the Year

BP America

Brian Smith, Chair

California Public Employees’ Retirement System

Henry Jones, Chair, Investment Committee, CalPERS Board of Administration


Cheryl Alston, Chair; Executive Director, Employees’ Retirement Fund of the City of Dallas

Oregon Investment Council

Rukaiyah Adams, Chair; CIO, Meyer Memorial Trust

Public Employees Retirement Association of New Mexico

James Maxon, Chair; Fire Chief, Sandoval County Fire Department

University System of Maryland Foundation

Bonnie Stein, Chair; CEO, Jemma Financial Services



Chief Investment Officer of the Year

T.J. Carlson

Texas Municipal Retirement System

Tim Corbett


Robin Diamonte

United Technologies

David Holmgren

Hartford HealthCare

Robert Hunkeler

International Paper

Kim Lew

Carnegie Corporation

Robert Manilla

Kresge Foundation

Donald Pierce

San Bernardino County Employees’ Retirement Association

Sue Slocum

Children’s Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota

Ash Williams

Florida State Board of Administration



The Next CIO

Derek Drummond

State of Wisconsin Investment Board

Michael Griswold

Ascension Investment Management

Waymond Harris

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan

Sharmila Kassam

Employees’ Retirement System of Texas

Valbona Schwab

CareGroup Investment Office

Phillip Titolo

MassMutual Insurance

Elizabeth Tulach


Wei Xie





12:30 – 6:00 PM, Thursday, November 29


Don’t panic, we don’t know what you individually read — but Institutional Investor’s editorial team keeps close track of our aggregated readership statistics.


The point of that is simple: we want to influence and refine the discussion. And, yes, validation. Knowing what’s being read helps Institutional Investor predict what’s going to be read in the future — and informs fresh areas of inquiry and discourse.


The result of this year’s analysis: A select few subjects, long-thought to be just talk, seem to be accelerating in importance.


It is those subjects that are the focus of this year’s Allocator Choice Masterclass.


We invite you to attend the Masterclass to gain insight into the debates and issues of the future.


Please click here for the preliminary agenda



Request an invitation


Nominations were open for the seven categories through July 27. Finalists were announced on September 5 as selected by the Institutional Investor editorial team. Voting, by qualified asset allocators only, began that day and will continue until October 19. Winners will be announced at the Allocators’ Choice Awards on November 29, held at the Mandarin Oriental in New York City.


Request sponsorship information



Masterclass Sponsors

Awards Dinner Sponsors

2nd Annual Allocators’ Choice Awards & Masterclass November 29, 2018 • New York City

2nd Annual Allocators’ Choice Awards & Masterclass November 29, 2018 • New York City
2nd Annual Allocators’ Choice Awards & Masterclass November 29, 2018 • New York City
2nd Annual Allocators’ Choice Awards & Masterclass November 29, 2018 • New York City